Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2009, 09:02 PM   #1

Stupid Noob lens question.

I am new to the dslr world and I have been perusing the used market on lenses and I see alot of reference to 'oil free blades', my question is what is the concern with non 'oil free blades'... could some please enlighten me.

Thanks

12-15-2009, 09:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by bob_00 Quote
I am new to the dslr world and I have been perusing the used market on lenses and I see alot of reference to 'oil free blades', my question is what is the concern with non 'oil free blades'... could some please enlighten me.

Thanks
Honestly, this seems more like a smart noob question to me ... I will say the most noobish thing about it is the title of the thread - you'd be more likely to get a lot of quick help with a better thread title like, "What are oily blades?" or similar...

Alright, on with the answer... the blades in question are the aperture blades in the lenses diaphragm (more often called the aperture). The diaphragm controls how much light comes through the lens, and has some other effects on the image (depth of field is changed at different aperture settings), but the diaphragm is left "open" when you are preparing to take a picture (while focusing and composing, etc...) and only "stops down" momentarily when the shot is fired. If the lens has had a hard life, oil from the grease inside the lens (I think often the zooming and focusing mechanisms will have some lubricating grease), can run onto the aperture blades and mechanism and cause the blades to stick or move very slowly - this keeps the aperture from functioning correctly, and will mess up your exposures. Essentially, a lens which this has happened to is broken, and repair will be necessary for the lens to work properly.
12-15-2009, 10:23 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums