Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2009, 02:00 PM   #1

A Newbs sad story with a K-x

Greetings.

I am new to this community, and to DSLR's. I've decided to go for the K-x, as it's reputation already, as a very affordable entry level DSLR, is infamous

Today I recieved my lovely new K-x. It's spanking. However, I cannot get it to work!

SD card - check, batteries - check, lenses check, power on - check.

Hmm....can't take any pictures. No shutter action at all. No auto focus. Nothing. Every time I lightly press the shutter release, the details on the screen flash. But nothing happens.

Tried the other lense, same.

Took the lenses off, the shutter works....

Am I bring a complete newb. Am I missing something? Please help this very frustrated chap, who really needs his camera!

Thankyou

12-16-2009, 03:36 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by MelAllsop Quote
Took the lenses off, the shutter works...
If that's true, I think it means you are not installing the lenses correctly. Try reading the instructions about this in the manual. It's a little weird. The camera will work with no lens, however, not work with a partly installed lens*.

*doesn't apply to advanced users who change the Using aperture ring setting to Permitted.
12-16-2009, 03:53 PM   #3

Original Poster
Hi Just1MoreDave

I thought that too. But, the instructions are very clear. Aligned the red dots, turn clockwise until you hear an audible "click". The camera does this fine. But when I attached the lense, I get nothing.....

I know this wierd. I'm a pretty competant chap. But this has thrown me. I literally can't do anything different.
12-16-2009, 03:56 PM   #4
Veteran Member

What are the lenses that you try?

I'm not sure if the lenses matter, but have to ask.

12-16-2009, 04:01 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums