Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2009, 08:07 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
A Question about K-7

Hi guys,

I am new to this forum and I have some questions regarding K-7 (maybe even more general) I am completely new to DSLRs. I've had decent experience with SLRs in the past and I am pretty much ready to make the dive into digital. The k-7 caught my attention bcs it seems so packed with features at such a low price. Its a steal!

My only concern is about the image stabilization. Given the fact that the sensor 'freely' moves around in the body, how prone is this system to failure. I read online one of the drawbacks of this setup is that if the IS system fails then you either have to fix it or your camera is useless (tho I couldnt even find one instance where someone had that experience - maybe its not common). Anyway just putting it out there, if someone has had such problems or has any idea as far as durability is concerned.

Also more on the side, I am particularly interested in landscape photography and maybe portraits. The lens I have in mind are the 12-24 F4 and possibly the 50mm F1.4 Tho I already have a Pentax SLR from the olds days (K1000 with 50mm F2), and from what I understand it will mount. I am okay with manual focus (thats all I have been using in the past). I guess my question is, how "worth it" is to spend the extra $300 on the 50 F1.4, as far as image quality is concerned / extra aperture flexibility.

Any inputs would be highly appreciated! Thanks in advance and sorry for the long post!

12-16-2009, 08:34 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome!

I have had a K10D with shake reduction since that camera came out and it has been bumped around a lot, including several trips on air planes. No problems with the shake reduction mechanism whatsoever.