Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-17-2009, 01:48 AM   #1

Can a beginner start with K7?

I am from India and very new to DSLR. In fact, I do not know the basics but, I am very much enthusiastic to use a DSLR. On perusal of several camera reviews, I found that K7 is fantastic and a wonderful camera. I finally decided to purchase this camera through some of my friends from USA as there is no Pentax dealer in India. It is at this stage I am totally confused with the following doubts: 1) As a beginner Can I handle K7? 2) In the absence of service center in India, Is it wise to buy a Pentax camera?

Of course, In India all other brands like Nikon and Canon are available. Unfortunately, Pentax has not yet started a dedicated sales and service counter in India. Please advice.

12-17-2009, 12:19 PM   #2
Inactive Account

hi! i'm also a beginner who got k7 as my first dslr.. my reasoning was that k7 has more accessible controls which would encourage me to experiment with different settings, as opposed to entry level models whereby many functions are buried in the menu or require you to press extra buttons. i think of it as liberating rather than intimidating..

as for your second qn, sorry can't help!
12-17-2009, 12:27 PM   #3

Hey subbarao and Welcome!!! Without a doubt the answer to your question is YES. The K-7 is a GREAT camera to begin your photographic quest. The other portion of your question--what about no service center?? That is truly unfortunate, but quite honestly, I have owned several Pentax cameras and I have NEVER had to take one in for servicing, and if I did, I would have to mail it in anyway since there is not a service center near me anyway. You would obviously have to do the same thing. So I don't see that as a problem either.
12-17-2009, 12:27 PM   #4
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Yes, it's fine to use a K-7 as a beginner - for exactly the reasons you mention.