Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-22-2009, 02:25 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Help Needed - Lighting suggestions for A Large Group Photo??

I need some help. I have some experience at photography but I have very little with flash photography. I have only done a little daylight fill flash using both the on-camera flash and an AF-280-T, so I am a newbie at this type of photography. I have tried to lay the problem out in such a way that there is adequate information for someone out there to provide some help. I have even attached the group photo that was taken two years ago. I have quite a bit of equipment and this has to be accomplished with the equipment at hand. There is very little chance that I will be able to get my hands on more equipment this late in the game. If I haven't provided adequate information please let me know and I'll try to provide the requested info. I also hope I have this request in the right forum, if not please move it to the right location. Finally, there may already be a detailed post that I haven't found that answers a lot of my questions, or another site with the information I need. If so, please send me in the right direction. I have checked some sites but the info provided is very general and not a lot of help.

I need to take a number of family photos this Christmas and I need some help with my lighting setup. I am not too concerned with the individual family shots as these are reasonably straight forward using a single off camera flash, or even using the flash on-camera with a bit of bounce or swivel dialed in.

The problem is with setting up my camera and my flash units to get adequate lighting for the large group photo. This is the scenario:

Location -
• Living room in front of Christmas Tree
• Approximate Living Room dimensions are: 15 feet (4.6 meters) by 17 feet (5.2 meters).
• See attached photo.

Group -