Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-26-2009, 12:38 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
ISO Help

Hi i was just wondering about the word ISO, what does this mean i am new to DSLR Photography and i just purchased a Pentax Kx And i was just wondering if anyone can tell me about ISO, how to use it and what does it mean.

Thanks.

12-26-2009, 12:46 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I don't know what ISO stands for from word for word (Although I could easily Google it right now if I weren't so lazy). But what I do know is that as you increase ISO, your sensor becomes more sensitive to light. As it becomes more sensitive to light, the picture quality tends to decrease due to noise. Noise are grainy dots in your images that don't look pleasant to most people who want to get the most clarity out of their picture.

People increase ISO so they can use a faster shutter speed. People tend to increase ISO at night time so they won't get blurry pictures from a slower shutter speed. I don't know the exact terms in the dictionary implying for shutter speed either, but what I do know is it is how long your sensor is exposed to light. With a higher ISO setting, you can decrease the amount of time your sensor is exposed to light. It is a trade-off, you sacrifice image quality with the expense of having a faster shutter speed.