Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-26-2009, 09:40 PM   #1

smc takumar & k7

Hello all,

I am very new to DSLR or photography for that matter. Got interested when my brother took some excellent photos of the niece and nephews on his D90, and was hooked on the precious memory snapshots. Anyway, just bought the k7 after 6 months of researching around and absolutely pleased with it.

Showed it off to the brother and dad, and dad from his many archived boxes pulls out a spotmatic 2 bought in the early 70s. Totally amazed by the bulit of these things, makes the D90 feel lightweight, not so much against the k7.

I have read through the articles and reviews on the forum and attached are some photos.

Questions;
1) Can i use this lens on the k7? looks like the earlier version of super takumar smc lens as per lense review (m42 screw mount normal primes)? please confirm which lens this is?

2) If yes, then i would need adapter, which is going to be struggle to get in Perth western australia, so will find a way somehow. Would there be any warranty issues using a non OEM adaptor? Or it is just like usage of any third party accessory, e.g flashs, memory card etc. ( i am aware of the issue regarding ill fitting adaptors, flange/non flange etc. through the articles, so will be careful).

3) UV cleansing, the lens has a slight yellowish tone after 30 odd years sitting in the closets. As described in some of these articles, to cleanse this, is it just a case of opening up the blades and leaving it in the sun for an extended period of time to improve?

Wishing all a happy new year and a safe festive season. Thank you for your time and assistance.

Ken.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-7  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-7  Photo 
12-27-2009, 05:47 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good Morning and welcome to the Forums!