Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2009, 06:46 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Please define: Wide-Angle. Macro.

These are the most basic of photography questions.

As I search and shop for lenses I find I really don't know what the drawbacks are to these two types of lenses.
I understand my k1000 looks at a 35mm lens as a ff camera would see a 50mm lens.

But it seems to me that all 28mm or 35mm lenses are considered "Wide-Angle". When I think of wide-angle I think 'distorted' shot.

Macro is a bit trickier. IF a Macro lens is to be used for shooting small subjects, (flowers and insects etc) can it ALSO be used to shoot normal subjects in distance without any problems or distortion?

How are these lenses constructed differently and what's the drawback to having them as a 'normal' lens?

12-27-2009, 07:41 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Winnie,

I am not an expert and I'm sure folks will correct me if I'm wrong but "wide angle" is a somewhat arbitrary term. It's all relative. A 35mm lens is wider than a 50mm and a 17mm is wider than a 35mm. I think you might mean a fisheye lens when you mention distortion although zooms will typically have some barrel distortion at the wide end.

As for macro. This is a lens that has the ability to focus at some distance and give a 1:1 image size (note that many of the so-called macro zooms do not quite achieve 1:1 but simply allow a very close focusing distance). A 70mm macro will give this 1:1 image at a fairly close distance to the subject. A 300mm macro allows you to stand off a further distance and still have the 1:1 image. I'm not sure if the macro lens has any limitations if used for "normal" photography.

WD
12-27-2009, 09:59 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
When you say 1:1 image...you meeeean?
12-27-2009, 10:34 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Macro lens.