Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2009, 11:23 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Go Heavy or Go lite in travel

I have just made a substantial investment in gear over the last year. I am pretty new to the DSLR market. I am going on my first trip with my DSLR to another country. Costa Rica - 8 days and 7 nights. My question for many people here. Would you go heavy or go lite on a foreign trip? I am mostly going site seeing with brother and sister.

I have the option of going heavy with the K7, DA* 18-55, DA* 50-135, battery grip, AF-360 or
go lite with K7, DA 21, DA 40, DA 70, AF-200. Not sure if to go minimalist or go with the waterproof guys.

I will be traveling to the forest, zip wire, beaches, pools, towns.

Some of the things is that when you go with the DA* you attract a lot of attention, it is waterproof and you just get a lot of ranges. It is heavy weight wise to get around but may come in handy in the forest.

The pancake lens and small flash option means just going lite, no water proof lenses but I can just keep them in the waterproof bag during those occasions. I just don't need to carry much.

What would you do? Looking for people with experience traveling a lot with cameras. How would you go in this scenario between the two options?

12-27-2009, 11:46 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I recently traveled, I decided to travel heavy. My trip was 16 weeks, and it was tough carrying it everywhere, but it was brilliant to have all my gear, to never be without something. Seeing as you have a relatively short trip, I'd go with a heavy trip.
12-27-2009, 01:28 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
As long as you're carrying the FLs that you know you will be using, you should be fine whichever way you go. You can make do with the conditions you shoot in but not if you don't have enough reach or can't get the shot wide enough.
12-27-2009, 01:40 PM   #4

I say go light/ish -