Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-28-2009, 01:42 PM   #1

Exposure problems

Hi,

Hope you all had a good Xmas.

I am new to Photography and brought an awesome Pentax K20D. I love it.

I have been experimenting and taking loads of pictures since I got it but have been struggling with exposure settings.

When I try to photograph someone or something against the blue sky during the day time I either get the object in front underexposed with the background exposed correctly or the background is very over exposed and the foreground is just right.

Can anyone tell me if there are any work arounds whilst taking the photo or post production? Any advice would be hugely appreciated.

Many thanks,

Matt

12-28-2009, 01:56 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Ah, Matt this is a common issue, and it's due to the huge contrast difference between the bright sky and the more subdued foreground. What you would need in those circumstances is a graduated ND filter that can decrease the intensity of the sky whilst retaining the brightness of the foreground. A shot taken with such a filter is then able to retain details in both the sky and foreground, giving a more pleasing result.

Another tool recently made easy to implement is HDR - bracketing the scene and then uploading the exposures into an HDR processing software package - this is a skill one has to develop, and one that I have not delved into (I quite like the grad ND filter application).

Even more success wold occur if the same scene were captured at dusk, where the sky intensity is greatly reduced and better balanced with the foreground - of course, this has the added benefit of offering a beautiful array of sunset colours in the sky, which add more drama to the scene.

Have a read of these articles:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/photography-articles/39743-understanding-...-kit-lens.html
12-28-2009, 02:02 PM   #3