Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-29-2009, 02:15 PM   #1

Switch lenses often or let some shots go by?

I'm not new to digital photography, but I am new to Pentax and to dSLR photography. I'm changing lenses all the time. A quick stroll through town (1 mile, half an hour or so) will see me take 20 pictures, and my EXIF data show me changing lenses four or five times.

I'm slowing down my non-shutterbug travel companions when I stop change lenses that often, I'm increasing the chances of dropping something expensive, and I'm slowly introducing dust into my system and (very slowly) wearing down my lens mounts. Plus it's just a pain. It's wintertime, too, which adds another layer (literally) of difficulty.

But, more than those concerns, I think my whole approach might be wrong. I'm taking pictures the way some people play golf: "Hmm. For this shot, I think I'll use my 5-iron... for this shot, I think I'll use my kit lens..."

Another thread on this forum touched on the "how often is too often" subject with camera lenses:
QuoteOriginally posted by Marc Sabatella Quote
I usually have around three lenses with me (the specific lenses depend on the situation). If I'm out shooting for an hour, I might change lenses half a dozen times. It's no big deal.
There's no single answer to the question, but I think I'm changing lenses too often. If I leave the house with just one lens, though, then it's a sure bet I'll see something that particular lens can't handle very well. I dislike missing the shot, but I also dislike spoiling an outing by fumbling with lenses, filters, and tubes.

How does one find the right balance?

12-29-2009, 02:26 PM   #2

Original Poster
I don't think my particular gear bag matters, since I mean to be asking a general photography question, but usually I take:

Pentax manual-focus 50mm f/2 "A" (sometimes with a "dumb" macro extension tube)