Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-31-2009, 05:49 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
stop down metering?

Hi all,
I've been shooting Pentax SLR's for about 30 years and quite often I've heard the terms; "stopping down" or "stop down metering".
About the time I think I have it figured out, someone makes a comment about it that makes me wonder- Just what is stop down metering? Tomorrow's my birthday (yeah, 1/1/10) and I'd like to start the new year knowing something !
Any and all help is welcome and sincerely appreciated; aannd-
HAPPY NEW YEAR!

....oh, by the way, I shoot a Spotmatic, a K1000, and a ZX-50.

Last edited by jonhock; 12-31-2009 at 06:12 PM.
12-31-2009, 05:53 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Stopping down means to reduce the size of the lens's aperture, i.e. increase the f/ number.

Stop down metering is usually referred to in M mode for M lenses, when the only way one can meter a scene with such a lens is to hit the green button after composing, which tells the camera to stop the lens down (engage the diaphragm to achieve the desired aperture) and allows the camera to meter at that aperture, and gain the exposure values for that scene.

Hope that helps.
12-31-2009, 06:43 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Yes, that does help. I was always pretty sure that stopping down meant going to a smaller aperture, but the "metering" part that goofed me up. On my K1000 with an SMC 50MM 1.2, wouldn't it always be stop-down metering to get the right exposure? Or stop-up to let in more light? (I've never heard; "stop-up metering")