Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-01-2010, 11:42 PM   #1

new and confused! (stupid question?)

I am completely new to photography as far as anything beyond a point and shoot goes, but interested to learn so I just got the K-x. I've experimenting so far, and one major issue that I can't seem to figure out is how to capture moving objects most effectively. There is a sport setting on the camera that I've tried, but when someone is moving quickly they still come out blurry. I have also tried using the shutter priority mode and setting the shutter speed very high, but for some reason this makes my pictures come out very dark! I'm really hoping someone could help me understand why that is, and what I should do to freeze moving objects without any blur! I apologize if it's a stupid question ... but I'm only learning!

Thank you very, very much!

01-01-2010, 11:55 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
A starting point...and turn off SR (shake reduction) when doing this. That preset sport feature would only be good for images moving towards you as the simplest situation. The manual explains a lot of these features at it's basic level.

How to Pan in Photography | eHow.com
01-02-2010, 12:06 AM   #3

Original Poster
Ahhh, thank you very much! The link was quite helpful ... but I'm also wondering, what would I do to freeze the entire scene with no motion blur in the background either?

And the tip about the anti-shake function was helpful also! This is a little unrelated, but would you generally recommend using the anti-shake function or not? Under what conditions is it best for?
01-02-2010, 12:41 AM   #4
Pentaxian

SR should be on for your second post, if you're at the long end or using a long lens, SR is usually on at all times for me unless i'm panning or the camera is on a tripod.

To keep everything infocus you need to go manual, meter the scene, then set for a speed around 1/500s or higher and the respective aperture.