Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-03-2010, 04:00 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Talking Down Camera Shops?

I have been saving my shekels for about a year now and I will be ready to buy my K7 and 50mm pretty soon.

I am going to go to my local camera store, Biggs Camera in Charlotte, NC to buy the camera. The people there are very good to me, and I want to give them business against some anonymous store in NYC that really could get by without my business.

That said, has anyone had success in bickering down prices at camera stores? I am a college student, so I "think" I will get 10% off (I got it off when I bought film, a Holga, etc, but those are pretty high-margin items).

What I need to know is, should I ask for a discount on the camera? I am prepared to pay sticker, but nobody wants to pay more than they have to.

Also, should I get the extended warranty for the camera/lenses they offer? I know extended warranties for Macs is worth it, but I don't know about cameras.

Thanks!

01-03-2010, 07:27 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Ask if they'll match online pricing.
01-03-2010, 08:39 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I am willing to pay more than Adorama. I doubt it's feasible for an independent shop to match Adorama, since they can't negotiate with the kind of volume that the big guys can. It would be nice if they could, but I'm not counting on it.

For example, a K7 with the kit 18-55 and a 50 1.4 can be had for $1500 on Adorama, free shipping and no tax. Does that sound unreasonable for an independent shop in a medium-sized city? I don't really know.
01-03-2010, 08:50 PM   #4
Damn Brit