Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2010, 06:21 AM   #1

Lens help please?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi im josh im pretty new to slr photography. I really enjoy photographing architectural forms and i would like to get a new lens for this form of photogrpahy. i have a K100d Super which came with a standard SMC 1:3.5-5.6 and im wondering what lens would be best for a beginner? any help would be appreciated.

01-07-2010, 06:53 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
If you enjoying architecture a wide-angle lens would be the next logical addition. This could either be something like a fixed focal length lens (aka "prime lens" like the DA 15mm or a zoom lens, like the Sigma 10-20mm or the Pentax 12-24mm.

The zooms are more versatile, a prime lens is faster (larger maximum aperture), offers slightly better image quality (but that would often only be noticeable if compared to really mediocre zooms or under optimum shooting conditions) and is a great educational tool. You'll learn more about perspective, when using a prime lens, because you have to move around to get a larger part of a building into view or to make a shot, concentrating on a small detail.

Ben
01-07-2010, 11:17 AM   #3

Original Poster
Ahh brilliant cheers Ben for your help. would you say fleebay would be the best place to get them. or is there a decent online shop i should know about?
01-07-2010, 12:21 PM   #4
Veteran Member

As you are in Devon(I assume in the UK) a European shop would be the easiest way. In the UK there are several decent mail order shops, like
www.warehouseexpress.co.uk
SRS Microsystems ? Pentax, Nikon and Olympus Digital Cameras, Camera Accessories and Lenses (they also have an ebay store)