Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2010, 09:46 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
aquarium photo help

hey guys nice forum this is.

I need some help with settings for my pentax k-7 that i bought yesterday.

i love to foto my aquarium wih malawi fish and i could use help on the settings.

i have tryed several settings but the images keep being blurry.

what camera settings should i use for take sharp photos of aquarium fish ?
tha flash has to be off.

im a beginner and yes i have read the manual but could use some help anyway.
please explaine the settings in simple format. :-)

01-07-2010, 09:54 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
Don't have a K7, but I've always found manual focus to work better. That way the camera doesn't focus on the side of the tank.
Close the curtains to cut down reflections and use the tank light.
01-07-2010, 10:22 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Aquarium photography is pretty tough and it can be hard to get good shots especially when dealing with active, fast moving fish like Malawi cichlids.

My tips are:

Turn off all other lights in the room, close curtains etc. to cut out any other light sources that might reflect in the glass.

Try to get away without using an on camera flash if you can, it washes out the colours too much. If you do use the flash remember to shoot at an angle so the flash doesn't reflect off the glass straight back at you.

Set your sensitivity to 800 or higher if you don't mind a little noise, and set your aperture as wide as you can (AV to lowest number) you want as much light so you can bump up your shutter speed. I look for at least 1/30s for slow moving or stationery fish (SR is always on) and 1/125s for moving fish.

As opfor said try manual focus, manually focus on a particular spot the fish often hang out in and fire the shutter when one comes into view. If your using a wide aperture you many have limited DOF so try to focus on the eye and get it sharp.