Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-09-2010, 07:12 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
B&W photo help

Hi - I'm a occasional photographer with a new K-7. I've used an Olympus C8080 and a Sony P&S up to this point, and would like to expand my photography skills with my new camera.

I was wondering where is the best place on this forum to post some pictures for constructive criticism? Also, if you have any suggestions on some basic improvements in Photoshop Elements. In both of the pictures I've attached below, I used 'multiply' to enhance the contrast, but that's about all I know how to do.

Also, what's the best or simplest way to get rid of the drainage pipe in the upper right corner of the 2nd photo?

Thank you for your help.

Attached Images

01-09-2010, 09:04 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Best place is the Photo Critique section of the Post Your Photos forum but do look over it first to get a sense of the "rules".
01-09-2010, 09:42 PM   #3
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well I'll comment to say both are good B&W conversions - they have a lot of 'life' portrayed in them.
#1 is a decent composition only affected somewhat by the distracting shadows casted over the subject.
#2 is well rendered with a good perspective. Cloning would be my method of choice to remove the pipe, sampling neighbouring grass area and with a small feathered brush go over the area of interest.
01-09-2010, 09:56 PM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thank you for your observations and help

01-09-2010, 10:01 PM   #5
Damn Brit

DISTINCTIONAL NOTE: In the critique section you will get critique on all aspects of the image.
If you just want feedback on PP, the PP section will be the best place.
01-10-2010, 09:11 PM   #6
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks for the suggestions. Cloning didn't seem to cover up the black pipe completely.