Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-11-2010, 08:29 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K20D Long exposures bright white

Hello, I am new to photography and have been trying to do long exposures with my K20D. I know about the problem with the sensor that makes it impossible to turn of the noise reduction in buld mode, but as I understand it that only means it will take twice as long to take a picture. I have been taking exposures for 45-60 minutes of star trails near streetlamps about 30 miles from the city, and all of the pictures have turned out either very bright white or totally white. I have been using buld mode on tripod ISO100 f 3.5 28mm manual autofocus. Is there a setting I am leaving out that is making all of these exposures so unaturally bright? I also tried to take a picture of the sun setting today with only about a 3 second exposure in bulb mode and it turned out completely white. Please let me know if there is something I am doing wrong, or if there may be something wrong with the camera. Thank you.

Last edited by Jacho; 01-11-2010 at 08:42 PM.
01-11-2010, 08:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Set aperture to f/16- f/22 to get desired result?
01-11-2010, 08:44 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Both scenarios sound as though the exposure is simply far too long, resulting in completely blown out photos. A photo of a sunset should not require bulb mode - the camera will accurately meter the scene (you can apply some exposure compensation based on the result, but exposure times should be quite far under 1 second).