Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2010, 03:29 AM   #1

Is it possible to fix my in-camera flash?(k10d)

Ever since I bought my camera, my flash has never worked right, and I am pretty sure I have read about this problem with others, but I searched for almost an hour in google and these forums and can't seem to find a fix for it, nor was there any help in the manual.

But my in camera flash totally overpowers every time, it completely blows the picture out to white and can not seem to find anything to change it. Is there some setting I am missing? Is it even possible to fix or is it like when the flash dies completely and then is basically dead?

And if it is broken, are there any cheap flashes I can buy? Namely for under $100(even less would be awesome, I am a student with very limited funds). One that moves vertically would be great, but it would be ok if it doesn't move if I can actually use flash for a change. :/

Thanks

01-13-2010, 05:27 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I would use the EV compensation button and apply some negative EV compensation. Experiment as to what works the best -- generally -1 is pretty good, but depending on your metering it may need a little more.

As far as cheap flashes, Vivitar makes some that are around a hundred dollars that are pretty decent.
01-13-2010, 10:11 AM   #3
Damn Brit

Can we have a sample with EXIF? What aperture and shutter speed are you taking flash shots with?
01-13-2010, 02:28 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Akiou Quote
are there any cheap flashes I can buy? Namely for under $100
This is one of my recommendations: Sunpak Auto Flashes.

No p-TTL (I don't like it anyway), no high speed, no wireless.

But an inexpensive flash that should meet most of your needs. Later on if you buy a fancier flash, the Sunpak can still be used as a backup or as a second flash.

01-13-2010, 02:48 PM   #5
Veteran Member