Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-14-2010, 08:08 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
what's considered fast enough?

i have a 50 1.4 and even as a total beginner can appreciate the lens. but i've also played with it enough to know what else i might need in the future. i would eventually like a wider option for indoor shooting while keeping the sharpness and speed of my 50.

with my limited background i'm basing the speed of the lens, its capability to shoot in low light, and its sharpness on its aperture rating (f/1.4). is this correct?

when i'm looking at other lenses though....i seldom see an aperture rating that low. especially in the 18-40mm range. so what should i be looking for in lens? are f2 ratings enough?....even some of the lenses in the 70mm onward range are much higher. does this mean they are not as fast? i get the feeling there is a formula to determine all this based on focal lengnth aperture rating and even prime vs zoom.

thanks for all the help.

01-14-2010, 08:18 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
sigma's 20mm f1.8 and 30mm f1.4 are awesome primes.

my general rule is no zooms slower than f2.8, no primes slower than f1.8.
01-14-2010, 08:24 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Aperture is a function of the opening of the lens (the size of the diaphragm in the lens; the aperture iris) over the focal length.

So figure the 50mm lens' aperture opening (when set at f/1.4) is 70mm wide. 70/50 = 1.4

Maximum aperture has nothing to do with sharpness, although often lenses with larger apertures are indeed sharper simply because they are more expensive lenses, and generally more expensive equals better when it comes to lenses.