Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2010, 02:07 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Begginers lense purchase query

I am in the market for an inexpensive second lens to play with and I deciding between a 50mm 1:1 or 1:2..... or something telephoto like an 80-300.

I have a 28-80 promaster currently but it is only 1:3.5 and I would like a little better macro performance, but I also enjoy taking pics from a far such as nature stuff.

So am I better off with the marco 50mm and getting a teleconverter for my 28-80 or get some tubes for my 28-80 and get a telephoto, or get neither and get tubes and a 2x?

01-15-2010, 02:18 PM   #2
Damn Brit

The Macro 50mm should also double (or treble) as a portrait lens and a walkaround prime.

Asking whether you should get a macro or a tele is a bit like asking whether you should eat an apple or an orange. We don't know what sort of photos you want to take.
01-15-2010, 02:22 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Just to be clear, are you after a macro lens, or a lens with a longer range, or both? Auto or manual focus?

You mentioned teleconverters - at this stage, I'd suggest not using them unless you have a fast (large aperture lens) that you can buddy up with it.

As for AF macro lenses, any of the 50mm options are excellent - most are 1:1 and this should be sufficient for you. MF macros are cheaper, well built but some better than others - check out the Pentax Lens review database for more detailed information on them.

If you're after telephoto then you have the option of the Tamron 70-300 Di 'macro' (although it isn't a true macro lens it can extend itself to 1:2). Can do OK in the macro range, but nowhere near the clarity and brilliance of a true macro lens.
01-15-2010, 02:27 PM   #4

Original Poster
I guess what I am asking is since I feel I want both equally, which is a better mod for my 28-80 1:3.5, tubes for macro or 2x for zoom.