Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2010, 07:44 PM   #1

Help! Lens filter question

I am a newbie. Recently bought a KX and am now upgrading my lenses which as you know is not cheap. I want to get uvfilters, polarizers, and a gradient neutral density filter for all of the lenses which would be a 77mm,49mm, and 67 mm. The cheapest way is to get stepdown rings and use 1 set of filters for all, however, in order to step down from 77mm to 49mm Id have to get two stepdown rings so Ive decided just to buy seperate filters for each lens.

Ive read conflicting things about filters ect and I dont want to put a poor filter on an expensive lens. On the other hand I dont want to spend more than I have to on filters. Can someone give me some advice on which brand and model of uv filter, polarizer, and gradient neutral density filter to buy? Is it best to get glass filters vs plastic? If so, which brand and model is the best bang for the buck?

Also, I am buying a Pentax 12-24 wide angle lens. I have read not to use a polarizer on a wide lens as it will cause vignetting but Ive also heard you can get a slim polarizer for a wide lens. Should I forget about the polarizer for wide angle or go with a standard one or get a thinner wide angle one. The sales guy at B and H said the 12-24 didnt require a wide angle filter but that a standard one would be ok?

Any input, opinions, or experience you have would be very much appreciated!

Thanks.

01-18-2010, 08:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Don't get screw on filters except for the UV's (though their actual need is hotly debated). Get a set of Cokin-type rectangular filters instead. One of each type of filter, and how ever many adpaters you need.
01-18-2010, 08:52 PM   #3
Damn Brit

Moved to Beginners Corner where the discussion should benefit more people.
01-18-2010, 10:16 PM   #4
Veteran Member