Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2010, 12:24 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Beginner Must Have's Anyone?

I am a complete newbie. I apologize for my ignorance in advance, lol! I have a K20D and the standard lens that came with it, the 18-55mm I think it's called. Anyway, I wanted to know what must-have's you all would suggest for me. I take lots of wildlife shots, outdoor family pics, and indoor banquet pics.

I have a small budget right now, but just give it to me straight........

I also kinda wondered what RAW was all about, if anyone has a link they could share with info on that?

Candace

01-19-2010, 12:34 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum Maggie.
No need to apologise - we were all newbies once.
You can post your images for critique separately on the Photo Critique forum in future. You'll get more response there. The image posted here is a nice start for a silhouette. It's appealing in form but the colours are extremely oversaturated and as such makes the scene look more like an inferno than a warm and gentle sunset.

On RAW shooting, it's best if you read up on that subject as it is both a very useful and very powerful method of image capture. The fundamentals on it are that it is raw data recorded by the camera sensor translated into an image seen on screen within a smaller gamut of dynamic range and colour space than what is available on the RAW file. So the wider information within the native image file is available for use by the photographer typically to salvage highlight and shadow detail as well as preserve true colour rendition that would otherwise be lost if clipped on a JPEG capture. More detailed (and better explained) information is available here:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-processing-articles/40647-some-expla...-benifits.html