Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-21-2010, 07:03 PM   #1

Post processing - particularly lens correction

I wasn't quite sure whether to put this in the post processing forum but decided it was probably more a beginner question than a post processing one so here it is.

In a nutshell, my question is whether there is PP software to automatically correct for lens distortion similar to what is done to the JPGs created within the camera (when shooting RAW+ or JPEG)?

The detailed explanation is as follows:

I am very new to DSLR photography (a recent K-x purchase is my first DSLR). I have tended to shoot in RAW+. I liked the "instant gratification" of the JPGs but was aware (though don't think I'd go so far as to say "fully understand") of the benefits of shooting in RAW.

My "workflow" was to use import the JPGs into Picasa, cull the ones I wasn't happy with and then do some basic cropping etc. I saved all the RAW files (except for absolutely terrible ones, i.e. unintentional blurred shots etc) in a separate directory.

I have been experimenting with some basic PP using the Pentax DCU 4 to see how I can improve upon the JPGs created with by the camera. This has been done on a one file at a time basis, and I compare the my new image with the original JPG from the camera. I am still an absolute beginner at this but am already convinced of the benefits of RAW.