Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-21-2010, 08:14 PM   #1

Typical beginner's question...

I am brand new to photography and I'm getting ready to make my first DSLR purchase and follow with some formal classes. After waffling over purchasing a D90 or a K-7, the K-7 is the now the frontrunner. I don't really need help comparing the two since, being in a Pentax forum, I know what advice I would get. But I had two quick questions I wanted to ask that would help solidify my decision:

1. For a novice is this too much camera for me to start with? I want to find a balance between a good first-time user camera, but also one for me to grow into. One of my concerns is that this camera is too advanced for a newbie.

2. My budget allows me to purchase the kit with the 18-55mm lens. I have seen criticism of this lens so I wondered if I should just buy the body with a separate lens. My feeling is for the steep learning curve I face the 18-55 lens was fine, but still wanted any advice.

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

01-21-2010, 08:29 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A number of newcomers have asked a similar question regarding it being seemingly 'too advanced' to a beginner. It's the general consensus that the K-7 is just fine for a beginner, as it has the modes to accommodate the newbie, as well as the advanced user, as it has the features and flexibility to accommodate the seasoned enthusiast/pro.

The kit lens will serve you just fine, even for years, until you work out exactly what focal lengths you would like to invest in future 'better' lenses. I would start, though, with a decent telephoto zoom lens to complement the kit lens, and that one would be the DA 55-300.
01-21-2010, 08:31 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery
Hi,