Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-23-2010, 09:14 AM   #16

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I am a newbie with a K20D, too, and went with the A 50/1.7 as my second lens for low light based on recommendations here. It is a great lens, and ran me $85 in excellent condition off the big auction site. It is more fun to use than the kit lens, and manual focusing is no biggie, at least for stationary targets. Not using the auto aperture mode, though, would seem to be a big hassle (at least for this newbie). I just couldn't afford the FA version when I bought the A, and after using the A, I am quite content with it, which is unusual for me. Good luck!

01-23-2010, 12:58 PM   #17
Veteran Member

Even the "A" versions are becoming expensive and I can't justify buying a 50mm focal length for more than $50.
I should have bought them when they where still going for that price..but alas, that was the past and even the "M" ones have skyrocketing prices.
01-23-2010, 01:35 PM   #18

Original Poster
I've been searching the local Craigslist and have seen several old film cameras sold with a 50mm A lens. But when I enquire about the condition and if they would split it off (they're usually in a package with 2-3 other lenses I don't need, plus the camera) they don't even bother responding, even if they I tell them to let me know either way because I still might be interested. This is true even if I respond minutes after the listing is posted...

Guess I'm just not lucky

I'd vastly prefer an AF lens but would settle for an A lens. Don't think I want to venture into the world of stop-down metering quite yet, but I'm glad the camera can support it if I ever choose to.