Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-23-2010, 06:30 AM   #1

K-x and lens guidance

I'm seriously considering the K-x over the Canon T1i and the Nikon D500. However, having not made it to a store to handle them, I'm not 100 percent yet. This will be my first venture into DSLR and photography generally as a hobby.

Being a complete noob to this stuff, it's so much info to soak up. One big question I have is whether to go with the body only, the 1 lens kit or the twin lens kit (up to 300mm zoom). It's probably more economical to go with a kit, but does it make more sense to purchase the body only and choose slightly better lenses, be it Pentax, Tamron or Sigma? If you have any suggestions on great lenses for reasonable price (couple to several hundred buck), please pass it on.

I'm really interested in wildlife, landscapes and macro shots. I don't have kids yet of the age I need to capture sports, etc., but I'm sure that day will come. That's why the twin lens kit is enticing. However,maybe it's better to get single lens kit and purchase a telephoto lens separately.

And although I loathe family portraits, I'm sure it'll get double duty doing that as well.

Any help is appreciated.

01-23-2010, 07:03 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
The 18-55 is solid, especially when stopped down. The K-x lens correction feature helps. If you decide on K-x, definitely go for the two lens kit with the overachieving 55-300mm. You can do some pretty impressive macro shots with a $50 Raynox DCR-150 mounted on the 55-300mm. Next I would suggest a fast fifty for low light and portraits.
01-23-2010, 08:47 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums