Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2010, 07:28 PM   #1
Forum Member

PP Newbie question

I thought I would post this in the beginners corner because it is quite basic. I am looking to picking up a PP program, and am not sure what one I should choose. I currently use (and like) aperture, but do not know how to correct distortion with the program.

What the program would be mostly used for is correcting distortion (maybe adding watermarks) to my photos taken with my fisheye lens. I was looking at DxO (DxO Optics Pro Software) for the correction, as Ken Rockwell page has shows nice results. I could also pick up CS4 for relatively cheap, as I am a student, and the student discount is nice.

I am wondering if (and how easy) it is to have the same results in CS4? And if it is worth the extra money for CS4?

01-24-2010, 07:33 PM   #2
graphicgr8s

QuoteOriginally posted by Duch Quote
I thought I would post this in the beginners corner because it is quite basic. I am looking to picking up a PP program, and am not sure what one I should choose. I currently use (and like) aperture, but do not know how to correct distortion with the program.

What the program would be mostly used for is correcting distortion (maybe adding watermarks) to my photos taken with my fisheye lens. I was looking at DxO (DxO Optics Pro Software) for the correction, as Ken Rockwell page has shows nice results. I could also pick up CS4 for relatively cheap, as I am a student, and the student discount is nice.

I am wondering if (and how easy) it is to have the same results in CS4? And if it is worth the extra money for CS4?
Well CS4 is my choice. It's what I use everyday for work. And play.
01-24-2010, 07:54 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
CS4 is the gold standard. I got Aperture for a very good price (actually free), but I use CS4 with Bridge because I think it works a lot more like my brain does.
01-24-2010, 09:38 PM   #4
Inactive Account