Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2010, 01:54 AM   #1

K-x with Zeikos Rubber Lens Hood: any PROBS?

Hi Everyone,

I'm a DSLR noob that just converted from a Canon SD300 P&S. I have the 15-55mm & 55-300 K-x kit but also purchased a Zeikos 52mm Soft Rubber Lens Hood.

There's a problem: it's not threading on to any of the lens. I think it's because of how the Zeikos rubber is fitting around it's threaded trim ring. Has anyone else had this problem?

Also, this may be silly to ask but...shouldn't the Pentax lens cap be able to snap on to the outside end of the lens hood? Mine definitely doesn't fit to the Zeikos.

Thx for any assistance.

01-29-2010, 08:51 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
In general, you really want a hood that is specifically designed for your lens, not one that just happens to have the same filter size. Since this hood is the same filter size as your 18-55, it *should* physically fit, but that doesn't mean it will actually work well. Chances are it will either have little effect, or will end up darkening the corners of your pictures (vignetting). If you search these forums for previous discussions of hoods, you'll find a link to a hood that is designed to work well with the 18-55 - it's a "petal" shaped hood. Looks just like the official Pentax one, but is a lot cheaper.

Anyhow, the one you have should fit the 18-55, if not, that's just all the more reason to toss it. As for caps, some thread hoods are designed to allow you to use a cap with them, others are not. I have no idea about this particular model.
01-29-2010, 09:19 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery