Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-30-2010, 07:08 AM   #1
Forum Member

Question regarding street lights at night (Includes sample picture with a K-x)

Hey guys.

I went out yesterday night to take some pictures and I couldn't get round an "issue". I am new to DSLR (I had SLRs before - a Praktica, and several P&Ss) so I hope I'm not asking something too stupid.

The street lights on my long exposures (over 20 seconds) always look like stars. What can I do to make the star effect go off? Please consider the fact that I am a noob to the DSLR world.

Settings are below. Here is the photo (please view full size):

Pentax K-x | 18-55 kit lens

Last edited by G-Diesel; 01-30-2010 at 07:23 AM.
01-30-2010, 07:13 AM   #2

Try to use the widest aperture and see whether you still get the "star".
01-30-2010, 07:19 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The stars in your image are caused by the aperture blades. This effect is more pronounced the more you close your aperture and at f/13 (which your EXIF data show) the aperture is already closed very much. Open it more and use a shorter shutter speed instead and the stars will get smaller and eventually be gone.

I think it would be a good practice to make a series of images with different aperture settings, to get a feeling for the effect.

Ben
01-30-2010, 07:30 AM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thank you very much for your input. I usually use pretty long exposures because the pictures usually turn out better than using a shorter shutter speed. I will try it at several combinations then, thanks a lot for your help again. I am glad to see there is a place where I can get some help improving my photography.

01-30-2010, 08:45 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Btw. normally people like those stars.

And to further expand your knowledge:
If you have an even number of aperture blades, the number of diffraction spikes is the same as the number of blades.