Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2010, 04:37 PM   #1
Forum Member

good deal?

i am a big newb when it comes to buying flashes... can anyone help me please?
i was interested in buying a ring flash so i went to cord camera and the owner told me he owuld sell me promaster macrolume ttl dedicated macro flash for 79.99 (its manual) but i saw it online and it said it was like $150. is it good deal?

02-02-2010, 04:47 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Make sure it is for digital. I'm not sure about the ring flash but someone bought me a Promaster flash as a gift a couple of years ago and it would not work on the camera. It turned out that the module that attaches to the camera was for film cameras only. I took it back and (as the idiots in the store didn't have a clue in the first place) got a refund and took my business elsewhere.

The ring flashes are also quite good for portrait shooting so I've heard.
02-02-2010, 04:52 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
yeah, i want to do it for portrait, when i was there we tried it on the k-7 and it worked... sort of....
02-02-2010, 05:00 PM   #4
Damn Brit

QuoteOriginally posted by jolee1990 Quote
yeah, i want to do it for portrait, when i was there we tried it on the k-7 and it worked... sort of....
Define... sort of. If it works, then I would say it is good value.
Now I think back, mine was actually the ring flash. I had asked for mine about the time they had just started producing the digital modules and therefore not so many (idiots who work in a camera store) were aware of them.

02-02-2010, 05:05 PM   #5
Forum Member

Original Poster
well i think it was just the manual problem.... it kept showing pictures that were over exposed, so i think its was just a manual problem... i think..
well sinec it was manual flash it should be alright right?
02-02-2010, 05:12 PM   #6
Damn Brit