Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-03-2010, 05:39 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Uploaded images seem to lose 1-2 stops

Hi all,

I am very new to photography and I have noticed that some of my shots seem to show up as underexposed once I load them onto the web (Flikr mostly).
I see the images as pretty close to properly exposed on my monitor when viewed in Picasa but once I post them they seem to lose some light and contrast even when viewed on the same monitor.
I do convert them to lower res but even the exported low res images appear fine when opened from my hard drive.
Any ideas?

02-03-2010, 05:48 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Not sure but what color space are you exporting them as, SRGB or Adobe RGB? If it is Adobe RGB, that might be the answer.
02-03-2010, 08:10 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Your browser may not be (probably isn't) color managed. Internet Explorer and Google Chrome are not. Firefox can be if you get the right plugin. And I don't know about Safari.

So most people, likely including yourself, are going to be using browsers that ignore color profiles. If you're organizing and editing in a program that understands profiles and adjusts for your monitor, that all goes out the window when you view the same photo in a browser.

If you want to see if that's the problem, and prove to yourself that the upload to Flickr isn't stripping your color profile...just re-download the image from Flickr, save it to your computer, and view it in your operating system's native viewer (Windows Photo Gallery if you're using Windows). Since the major OSs are all color managed, it should look right. If it does, that means the color profile has survived the trip.

Now for added fun, drag the same file into a browser window so you're looking at the photo on your local computer, but using your web browser. It will probably look wrong. Same file...but viewed in two different programs.
02-03-2010, 10:12 PM   #4