Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-05-2010, 12:07 AM   #1

Pentax K-x Image File numbering

Hi. I am a newbie here and have recently purchased the Pentax K-x Black kit (with 18-55 and 55-300) online from a highly reputed seller - it is my first DSLR!

The kit arrived in fine shape and I have have taken at least 500 photos with it over the past few weeks and everything works perfectly fine.

I was reviewing the pictures yesterday and noticed that the image file numbering for the first shot I had taken with the camera was "IMGP0879.JPG" which I thought was a bit odd as I would have expected it to have started at xxxx0000 or xxxx0001 ...

I now have a nagging feeling in my mind about whether I have somehow been landed with a used / open box camera ... although physically, it looked brand new!

Would some kind folks please let me know if the image file numbering for the first shots that you have taken with your K-x's started with 0 or 1 please. Thanks so much.

02-05-2010, 12:52 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pretty sure the numbering started from 1 on mine (looking back on my first photos I see one at 003 which supports this).
02-05-2010, 02:19 AM   #3
Veteran Member

You may want to check how you've told the camera to record file and folder names (p252 in the manual).

But if you are in any doubt about how many photos your camera has taken, use PhotoMe (0.79R17 is best) to look at the shutter actuation/count of your camera (which is recorded in the EXIF metadata information of every image you take) in the first image recorded by the camera. Open the image in PhotoMe and then look under Manufacturers Notes - Shutter Count in the JPG.

If the camera is brand new, it should only show a small number of factory test actuations - mine showed a shutter count of 230 when I looked at my first K-x image.

PhotoME - Exif, IPTC & ICC Metadata Editor
02-05-2010, 02:41 AM   #4