Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-05-2010, 01:37 AM   #1

Noobie Advice for Car's Headlight PICS w/K-x

I need to take pics of my car's headlights for a car forum. Specifically the members would like to see head-on shots with the headlights on and another shot from the cockpit showing the pattern of the light beam as it hits against a wall [the headlamps are High Intensity Discharge (HID)] I'd like to take the shots just at dusk and at night time.

Please keep in mind I'm a complete noob with a DSLR. Do I just use the Auto Picture or Night Mode? Should I use manual mode instead -- if so what ISO? Do I turn off the internal flash? Is there a f setting I should use? Etc.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

02-05-2010, 05:35 AM   #2
Inactive Account

i am not sure what would be the best sittings just try a couple of diff. settings and see what looks the best, when posting the pics on the car forum site just put what settings you used IE f, shutter speed and iso, a couple of the car forums i am on they always ask
02-05-2010, 06:33 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It doesn't cost you anything but time to experiment. For the head on shot, I'd try (no flash) in Av in the f5.6 to f8 range and go from there. For the from inside shot, same thing but I would put a circular polarizer on the lens to try and kill any interior reflections. These are just guesses on my part but again, costs nothing but time to experiment.

Good luck..

QuoteOriginally posted by BodegaBay Quote
I need to take pics of my car's headlights for a car forum. Specifically the members would like to see head-on shots with the headlights on and another shot from the cockpit showing the pattern of the light beam as it hits against a wall [the headlamps are High Intensity Discharge (HID)] I'd like to take the shots just at dusk and at night time.