Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-05-2010, 03:21 AM   #1

Hello I am new and a noob :D

I have never used a DSLR before. I read the whole manual today and have a little better understanding. But I cant seem to figure out how to take good quality pictures. they arent grainy but they are blurry. Here are some that I took a second ago. Please give any advice on anything you think would be helpful. And please use simple terms if you can.

Attached Images

02-05-2010, 03:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
It would be helpfull to tell us aperture value and shutter speed of your photo.

In general you the following is happening:

- DSLR's in general produce less sharp images by default, unless you change your camera settings. (Read the manual)
- Pentax DSLR's do not flash automatically. Hence, your camera will adapt to low light by using the largest aperture and slowest shutter speed possible.

Working with all open aperture will give you a very shallow Depth of Field (DOF). A shallow DOF means that the area in focus around the focal distance of the lens is very limited. You can have more DOF, however then you need to work with smaller apertures (the higher f numbers, for instance f5.6, f8 etc). This will either mean that you need to: 1) use higher ISO value which will increase noise, 2) use slower shutter speeds which will increase motion blur, 3) use the flash which will change you lighting settings.

Your picture looks like it is taken with not too much light, meaning that you may have suffered from shallow DOF and/or motion blur.
Some of the hairs look sharper than others. So I wonder if the cat moved, indicating slow shutter speed.....

I hope this helps.

- Bert
02-05-2010, 03:59 AM   #3

Original Poster