Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2010, 09:29 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K-x or K-7?

Hiya, I've been looking around trying to find the perfect camera for myself when I came across the K-7. I absolutely fell in love with the camera but the problem is that it's a little out of my price range. I am a newbie when it comes to DSLR cameras so this would be my first digital camera. My question is whether I should splurge on the K-7 or if I should try out the K-X first and then decide whether I should go for the larger camera.

I'm worried that I might get a really expensive camera and then give up the hobby because it's too confusing or I just don't enjoy the hobby. Should I buy the smaller and cheaper camera and then think about buying a more expensive camera or should I splurge on the expensive camera?

Thanks for the help!
-Marie

02-08-2010, 12:06 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Splurge and get the K-7....you'll be load you got what you wanted and more than likely the budget thing wont be as big of a deal as time passes.

Jason
02-08-2010, 02:14 AM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Jasvox Quote
Splurge and get the K-7....you'll be load you got what you wanted and more than likely the budget thing wont be as big of a deal as time passes.

Jason
Marie,
I would tend to agree with Jasvox. But I have a couple of suggestions:

First you should try hands-on the cameras. Nothing beat the personal feel. Which camera body feels best in your hands? The K-x is a slightly smaller body and people with large hands do not like the tied space between the buttons. The K-7 is a little bit bigger, although still small compared to the D90, D5000 and even the 500D. Do not decide until you try both camera in your hands. You do not want to be disappointed by the handling of your new camera.