Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-09-2010, 08:27 PM   #1

Is focusing screen for K-x worth it?

Hello everyone,

I am new to Pentax, and I've heard of some focusing issues with beginners cameras like K-m and K-x. While I'm waiting for my K-x & FA31 to arrive, and can't check it for myself, I'd be grateful for any opinion on if dedicated focusing screen like Ec-B or K3 really helps in everyday street and indoor amateur shooting.

Thanks!

02-09-2010, 09:14 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
if you are using autofocus, not at all

i have quite a few manual focus primes, and thats when it does help
02-09-2010, 09:15 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Karellen Quote
Hello everyone,

I am new to Pentax, and I've heard of some focusing issues with beginners cameras like K-m and K-x. While I'm waiting for my K-x & FA31 to arrive, and can't check it for myself, I'd be grateful for any opinion on if dedicated focusing screen like Ec-B or K3 really helps in everyday street and indoor amateur shooting.

Thanks!
I have not heard too many complaints about accuracy. Mainly speed. In which case the Katzeye won't help you. It is an excellent product though, if you do any MF.
02-09-2010, 09:31 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I got one after owning the camera a year. I think it's great, and I mentally add the cost of a split-prism screen to my next camera (then decide not to buy the camera). But it's possible to get along without one just fine, too.

I would not order one until you've used the camera for a while with the stock screen. The split-prism screens are not perfect for everyone, even if you become dedicated to manual focus. They also have drawbacks. I think it will be easier to decide what's important to you after using the camera.

02-09-2010, 11:32 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by jezza323 Quote
if you are using autofocus, not at all