Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2010, 12:07 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Can I remove the "A" position lock on my aperture ring

I have a promaster 28-80 3.5. I enjoy having the "A" postion for when I just need a decent shot and want to shoot in auto mode. But for those times I want to go all manual, the pin to press to release the lock is right under the flash, and my fat fingers have a tough time doing so.

I know I can set the aperture electronically on the camera, but twisting the ring is just so much more convenient.

Can my total lens illiterate newbie self remove the lock so that I can just twist it out of auto mode with out having to press the small button

02-10-2010, 12:20 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I don't know if you can remove the A position lock on that particular lens.

But I'd like to comment on this statement:

QuoteOriginally posted by MikesChevelle Quote
I know I can set the aperture electronically on the camera, but twisting the ring is just so much more convenient.
It may not so convenient as it seems. If the aperture ring is not at the A position, to get proper exposure, you have to:

- Set the camera to M mode.

- Hit the green button (or AE-lock, if there is no green button).

Even then, the exposure may not be correct (overexposure likely).

Think twice before modifying the lens.
02-10-2010, 12:33 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I'm thinking if you are too clumsy to work the "A" button, then you have little chance of opening, modifying, and closing a lens.
02-10-2010, 12:47 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by KungPOW Quote
I'm thinking if you are too clumsy to work the "A" button, then you have little chance of opening, modifying, and closing a lens.
Amen. What are you thinking?

02-10-2010, 12:57 AM   #5

Original Poster
Its not a matter of clumsiness, its tucked fairly tight right under the flash housing, making it hard to get to.
02-10-2010, 01:20 AM   #6
Damn Brit