Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2010, 08:56 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Want to try my K7 in the snow...Advice

We're getting a nice snowfall today on Long Island and I want to shoot some shots with the K7 I picked up a few weeks ago.

I plan to set the iso to 100 and adjust the exposure to -1. I'll set the aperture depending on the effect of the particular shot. I'm a newbie so maybe I don't have a good plan.

I'll be shooting along Bethpage Park nearby where they had last years US Open.
Very woody area but no lakes or ponds.

Any advice?

Thanks

02-10-2010, 09:01 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Depending on how much snow covers the scene, you might actually need to adjust the exposure compensation up, not down. If there's too much snow, the camera may try to meter off the snow. As a result, the camera might lower the exposure to make the white appear more neutral grey, which is not what you want. To counter this effect, you'll probably want to set exposure compensation to something like +0.5 or +1

- Jason
02-10-2010, 09:11 AM   #3

Original Poster
Good thing that I asked-
Getting ready to leave in a few minutes......

Thanks!
02-10-2010, 09:44 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Just make sure the photos aren't overexposed either on the histogram. When doing PP, adjust the exposure until the snow is almost white. I see pictures with snow that are clearly too dark very often.

02-10-2010, 09:48 AM   #5

Original Poster
I'll have UV filter on the 18/55 lens and a UV Haze on the 50/200. I also have a polarizer for the shorted lens. I'll shoot bracketed starting with +1.0. I'll also short RAW+.

Off I go................
02-10-2010, 02:20 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by seachunk2 Quote
We're getting a nice snowfall today on Long Island and I want to shoot some shots with the K7 I picked up a few weeks ago.