Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2010, 08:06 AM   #1

K-x kit lens. How good is it?

The camera is available on amazon for $473 with 18-55m AL lens and for $573 for the 50-200 mm ED lens. I'm a newbie. I have just handled D5000. So my question is, is 0really worth the extra $100 in getting the 50-200mm lens in the kit. I'm not very sure about this because I have seen not so happy reviews about the kit lens offered.

Thanks

02-15-2010, 10:19 AM   #2
Veteran Member

As far as I know, Pentax kit lens are better than what is offered by other brands.
I have the DA 18-55mm AL II and the DA 50-200mm and am satisfied with it.
The versions I mentioned are supposed to be the same lens design with the DA-L that is now being offered with the K-x, albeit to make it more affordable a plastic mount was used instead of the usual metal mount, no lens hoods included, and no clutch focus.
That is just about the only difference with the DA and the DA-L.
You can check the lens review section about the DA18-55mm AL II and the DA 50-200mm as it should be about the same as the DA-L.
Here the link for the DA reviews :Pentax Lens Review and Specification Database - DA Series Zooms
Here's the link for the DA-L reviews :Pentax Lens Review and Specification Database - DA L Series Zooms
02-15-2010, 10:30 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I have been nothing but impressed with the 50-200. For what it is, it can produce some really fantastic images. It's IQ in my practical findings is much much better than the 18-55.

Here's some shots taken with the 50-200 on my K-x:

1/80, f/9 at 95mm.

1/200, f/9 at 105mm.

95-105 at f/9-11 seems to be its sweet spot.
02-15-2010, 10:39 AM   #4

Original Poster
thanks a lot gerry and noah.. im goin2 bite on this deal then...

02-15-2010, 10:43 AM   #5
Igilligan

In my opinion

I agree with Noah... the DA 50 200 and the 55-300 IQ are both better than the 18-55 kit...

The 50-200 is worth a 100 bucks more...