Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2010, 12:30 PM   #1
Site Supporter

flower looks cartoonish? What's wrong?

Hi,

I am a novice when it comes to fully manual mode using a tripod (which is what I was doing here). And I'm also a novice when it comes to posting photos on the forum, so let's see if I get it right after reading the various stickies ...

Now, with all that out of the way, what went wrong in this photo and the little flower? Is it a focus problem, an exposure problem or ???

I had attempted to meter off some of the dark green foliage in the shot, then recomposed ... not practicing a winning photo composition here, but trying to play around with manual settings.

Hopefully if I did this right, full EXIF should be on the flickr site. I did have a circular polarizer on the lens.

Thanks in advance,

TJ

02-15-2010, 01:27 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Well, I'm no pro, but it looks like the camera did indeed meter off the darker
foliage, and then the brighter flower got over-exposed, or oversaturated.

If you dial back the exposure a bit (faster shutter speed, smaller aperture)
you may capture the detail in the flower, and still be able to "push" the
darker areas to bring out detail there.

This is a common problem when some areas of a photo are bright, and
some are dark.
02-15-2010, 02:42 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Why did you use spot metering, anyways? The only reason to use spot metering is because you have an 18% gray (or equivalent) source to meter from.

The flower is viciously over-exposed in 1 of the channels, hence the cartoonish look.
02-15-2010, 03:33 PM   #4
Inactive Account

I'd be tempted to try a polariser to take the shine off the leaves.

Other than that a little PSE "lighten shadows" and darken highlights".

02-15-2010, 06:09 PM   #5
Site Supporter

Original Poster