Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-18-2010, 09:28 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Pentax (NOT) in India - A Real Pathetic Story...

Hi All,
I am a resident of New Delhi, India which is a growing market and I have been trying for the last 6 years to get hold of Pentax's affordable SLR cameras but due to the absence of any official channel or any representative who deals in Pentax SLR cameras and due to non existent After Sales Support concerns I end up buying entry level Nikon or Canon cameras which are present here officially.

What a shame that a company like Pentax does not even have an official channel for the sale of SLR cameras in India. All that are present in India are direct importers who do the freight forwarding on your behalf and charge a lot over and above the Max retail price. This makes the affordability factor favor the Nikons and Canon.

Can some one tell me from where can I buy a genuine, legal Pentax K-x in Delhi or any where in India at competitive prices because as such a Pentax K-x is costing me way more than a Nikon 5000 or Canon 1000D and that too in the complete absence of After Sales Support.

I am afraid , I will for the third time end up buying a Canon even though I wish to lay my hands on Pentax this time.

some one please help me...
Suraj from India

02-18-2010, 11:04 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Unless someone does know a place with Pentax gear there my advice is to unfortunately go with Canon or Nikon till Pentax shows up. If you buy a Pentax you will probably end up wanting to buy extra gear and it will be a real pain trying to find those lenses and stuff...
02-19-2010, 01:45 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I agree with stardust. It's unfortunate but I indeed have adviced it before to somebody here on the forum. Anything extra that you need (lenses, repairs etc) will cost you a fortune extra due to shipping costs.