Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-23-2010, 01:40 AM   #1

Pentax K-X: Flash/Len Compatibility

Hi all,
I'm really very new to dSLRs and had not even own one dslr camera but after reading so much, I had more or less decided on pentax k-x due to its very good reviews.

However, I have some questions and do appreciate that you guys can help me out even if it sounds really silly to you :ugh:

1) If I want to use an external flash, must I only buy pentax flash? Or can I just buy any flash in the market to hook onto my pentax k-x's body?

2) Same question here to switching lens. I have read up and I know that adapters for pentax do exists but is there a wide variety of lens that I can mount onto my k-x without the need of adapters?

3) I'm from singapore and a lot of people suggested me getting a canon or nikon camera because of their wide range and availability (lens, etc). Are pentax stuffs limited or very much expensive compared to canon's and nikon's?

I do not wish into getting something only to regret in future since a dslr is not cheap (so does their accessories).

Once again, many thanks for all the help I can get.

02-23-2010, 02:33 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
1) You don't have to buy a pentax flash; check out https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/camera-studio-accessories/43215-pentax-p-...omparison.html If your question implies that you want to use a Nikon or Canon flash, I'm not sure how to answer; I doubt that it will provide full functionality. I have used a very old Metz 45CT1 (bought somewhere in the 80s) on my K10D; indeed with limited functionality but it did the job.
2)
Yes. Adaptors are only required for lenses that don't have the Pentax K-mount bayonet. See Camera Lens - Official PENTAX Imaging Web Site for a list of currently available Pentax lenses; Sigma, Tamron and others also make lenses with the Pentax bayonet.
3)