Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-28-2010, 02:15 AM   #1

Is it neccesary for a flash?

I am pretty new to photography and I've got a K200D and I think the flash on the camera works nicely. What would the benefits of having a flash such as the AF200FG have on my pictures over that of the one built onto the camera? And also, are the xternal flashes easy to use?

In the end... should I get one?

Thanks =)

02-28-2010, 02:36 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
More power (longer light throw), the ability to bounce and swivel the light (some flashes), and the ability to move the flash off camera (some flashes). Does everybody need one? No, but it's not a bad accessory to have.
02-28-2010, 02:59 AM   #3
Veteran Member

The AF200FG will only give you more power. Other flashes have the ability to twist themselves so you can bounce light from walls and ceilings. If you feel that the built in flash is too weak for you, perhaps you should get the AF200FG but if I were you I'd try and find something with more capabilities. There's a whole new world of photography when you buy a good flash. The AF360 for example can be controlled wirelessly so you can place the flash somewhere else and get nice lighting from various angles. This is a fantastic attribute that Pentax incoroporates in their flashes that other companies lack.
02-28-2010, 03:08 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Or why not try the high end AF540..

02-28-2010, 03:25 AM   #5

Original Poster
Well, I was thinking that the AF200FG would be a decent step up from the default flash and it wouldn't be too costly buying it second hand.

I was just also wondering whether the lighting from the external flash will look more natural than the one on the camera. I say this because of the photos I take with flash, you can tell that the flash was used in the photo because of the white reflection coming off the object.