Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-01-2010, 12:23 AM   #1

New K20D - now what??

I just bought a K20D because I am a portrait painter and I feel it will help me especially with antsy kids and impatient adults. It was pretty expensive, so the first thing I want to do is get 2 good cases for it - 1 to take when I am just going out and only need the camera and a lens, the second to store and transport everything. I had seen a brand called Zeroshock which has polyurethane padded sections inside which seemed pretty good. Over time I have broken my blackberry and cell phone screens, and they were nowhere near as big an investment as this camera, so I 'd rather find a really good, protective case in the beginning.
Any suggestions? Thanks for your input....

03-01-2010, 03:11 AM   #2
Veteran Member

The K20D is a pretty rugged beast. I've carried mine around Central America, stuffed into just an unpadded teardrop Ameribag which has been dropped and prodded, with no damage to body or lenses (or the other electronics and gear mingled in). (Although I must admit than, when a minilaptop is in the bag too, I'm VERY careful with it.) The Ameribag has been effective at deterring pickpockets in crowds. The Zeroshock bags/packs I've seen don't look too defensible.

[ I detail the contents of my Ameribag here: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-beginners-corner-q/91112-recommend...tml#post928725 ]

But also consider what type of container you'll be comfortable carrying, whether it'll be shipped and otherwise mauled by others, etc. A locking hardshell case is good if you expect your stuff to be drop-kicked, tossed by baggage handlers, etc. Such typically comes with two styrofoam blocks, and you cut those to make custom indents for your gear. And it can look like an attache case, not a camera case, which may or may not be important to you -- a more business-like appearance, etc.