Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-05-2010, 03:31 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Vacations and P&S cameras

I guess this isn't a "beginner's question" per se, but being a beginner, I'm going to mostly stay in the kiddie pool for now. I'm one of those people who is very reluctant to hand over my camera or anything else in a public place to someone I don't know. On our last overseas trip, I only permitted strangers to take our picture with the K20d when there wasn't anywhere to run and I had decided I could almost certainly catch them anyway. On top of it, I forgot that most people get confused by a camera with an LCD screen but no image. So, wanting to limit our risk on trips while not missing out on shots of "us," I figure a P&S in the bag is a good idea.

I assume brand loyalty isn't particularly important, save perhaps for favoring models that take SD cards. I also assume that paying for bells and whistles isn't necessary since virtually everything you take with it will be "Us at the <sight>", unless something goes horribly wrong with the primary.

So, do you all have one for those travel moments when you need to ask, "excuse me, could you take our picture?" If so, which one?

03-05-2010, 03:41 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Pa*****icTZ5
03-05-2010, 03:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

You may want to consider a water-proof/crash-proof camera. We have a Lumix DMC-TS1 which is great for kayaking trips. My wife also uses it underwater (video) to improve our son's swimming techniques. Its image quality is no match for that of the K-7 but some photos is still better than no photos.

There are many water-proof/crash-proof cameras to choose from. We picked the TS1 partly because of its "wide" lens (28mm equivalent).

Last edited by SOldBear; 03-05-2010 at 04:58 PM.
03-05-2010, 04:47 PM   #4
Veteran Member