Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-06-2010, 04:36 AM   #1

K-x and Panoramas How-To

Hey guys.
I am a new photographer, and the K-x is my first real Dslr.
I have seen posts about some really nice panorama shots, and only some of them describe as being pieced together with Photoshop. I am not very saavy with PS yet, and I am wondering if the K-x has setting internally to be able to create amazing panoramic photos or not.

Thanks for any help!!

03-06-2010, 05:15 AM   #2

if you're a windows user, download "Microsoft ICE", it will produce the image for you, from multiple shots.

one thing to keep in mind when taking pictures for your panorama is to make sure to only move the camera in one axis at a time. for example with a pan/tilt head, only pan or only tilt, don't pan and tilt or you wind up with a mismatch on one of the axis. you can pan X number of degrees and then tilt up/down, and pan again, to create a larger stack.... ICE will take care of all of that for you.

the other thing to keep in mind is each frame needs a reference to the frame before it, and if doing a larger stack, the frame above/below it. this is so the program's math can match up and correct for angles and such.

here's a 60 megapixel panorama I shot at the beach, but screwed up by tilting the camera (changing more than one axis) about half way through:
http://projects.dimension-x.net/pictures/stitch/beach_stitch.jpg
03-06-2010, 05:44 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery