Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-09-2010, 08:47 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
beginner flash photography question

I am relatively new at photography and VERY new at flash photography. I recently purchased a Metz 58 af-1 for my k20d. I've only had it for a couple days and am making my way through the manual as well as experimenting with the flash. So far, I haven't ventured much out of PTTL, but I've had pretty decent results with the indoor shots with flash that I've bounced off of walls.

I am in the habit of shooting in Av mode on my camera, occasionally switching to manual. I noticed that when I am in Av mode on my camera and PTTL mode on my flash, no matter what f stop I choose, the shutter speed stays at a constant 1/60. Is that what is supposed to happen? I know - silly question - I am just making sure because it seems strange to me that the shutter speed would remain constant.

????

03-09-2010, 08:52 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
When dealing with flash, shutter speed only has an effect on the ambient light, not the light from the flash (which fires way faster than even your max shutter speed). Yes it is normal for the shutter speed to stay the same. If you were to actually put the camera into Flash-Sync mode (the red X), it would remain at 1/180.
03-09-2010, 11:07 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums