Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2010, 05:32 PM   #1
Inactive Account

I want some light, sharp, fast prime lenses...hopefully I came to the right place

Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum. I used to shoot canon, but I had to sell my stuff, so now as I dream up what I would eventually like to shoot, I have the opportunity to look at all my options again.

I was very happy with my Canon 20D, except that I never really found that "special lens" for it. I'm not really into using zooms, not that I have anything against them, but I don't like having to pay for a full spectrum of focal-lengths that I'm not going to use anyway (I usually tend to crank the zoom to the widest setting and lean in, or walk, out of habit).

The only thing that I didn't like about Canon is that I couldn't find a reliable fast, wide prime. I know they have their 24mm f/1.4L, which would be really great, but I'm not a pro and can't justify or afford putting that much money in one lens right now. Also, I prefer lighter lenses. I wasn't impressed with their 28mm f/1.8, and I just don't feel like Sigma's 30mm f/1.4 is reliable enough (also on the long side for me).

Does Pentax make anything in the 20-28 range that's f/2 or wider and $400ish or lower? I really want something that's usable wide-open. Also, what 50-85mm lens would you recommend for portraits? I've looked at the 50 f/1.4, but it looks sort of like a toy to me. I don't mean to judge too harshly if it's a great lens, since it can't have worse construction that Canon's own 50 f/1.8, which is a very capable lens for the price.

Thanks in advance you for your advice. Hopefully I will be a member of the Pentax family very soon!

03-11-2010, 07:13 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by innocent smith Quote