Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2010, 10:33 PM   #1
Inactive Account

(noob question) Getting my K-x tmr -> how to test for mirror slap?

Hi everyone! Great forum here and I'm totally new to dslr.

I am getting my K-x tmr, and I would like to know how I should test it for some known issues (or test for faulty cameras) including mirror slap when I receive it.

Thanks a lot for the response! Really appreciate it!

03-11-2010, 11:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
update firmware, use camera, if you notice a problem then you might have one...
if you go looking for a problem you might make one up :P
03-11-2010, 11:13 PM   #3
Damn Brit

Be very careful when you take it out of the box, there is a belief that this is where the problem originally starts. Lift it straight up and then rotate it very slowly 360º before unwrapping it. As long as you do that, you shouldn't have a problem. Just to be on the safe side though, never shoot at 1/80, 1/100 or 1/125 sec.
03-11-2010, 11:24 PM   #4
Veteran Member

You may never know you had a problem unless you go looking for one real hard.

Also the 'issue':

(a) hasn't been conclusively nailed as mirror slap related by anyone; or
(b) shown to be present in every K-x.

Test for it by taking lots of photographs under all sorts of conditions and angles and then spend hours and hours poring over them at 100% on screen...

03-11-2010, 11:50 PM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster
im getting flamed! but thanks for the reassurance!!!
03-12-2010, 02:41 AM   #6
Damn Brit

QuoteOriginally posted by Renmanova Quote
im getting flamed! but thanks for the reassurance!!!

Don't buy a Prius as well as a K-x, you don't want to find out that you're really unlucky.

Welcome to Pentax Forums.
03-12-2010, 02:52 AM   #7
Veteran Member